Coconut Black Eyed Peas

(adopted from a recipe found here.)

I’ve had some dried black eyed peas sitting in my cupboard forever. So the other day I decided I was going to do something about it. I put them in a bowl of water… and then did nothing for about two days. I had nothing planned for dinner last night, so I quickly searched for a recipe to use and found a really simple and lovely one.

The biggest part I changed was the bacon. I had bacon two nights in a row for dinner already, and even though it goes against everything I stand for, I decided three nights were too many. Instead I baked some tofu with olive oil and soy sauce for some salt.

Coconut Black Eyed Peas

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 block of extra firm tofu, cut into cubes
  • olive oil
  • soy sauce
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • fresh parsley if you have it. Dried parsley will do.
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 cup and some black eyed peas (soak the peas for about 8 hours before hand)
  • 1/2 cup brown rice

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
  • Chop up the tofu and drizzle with enough olive oil and soy sauce to coat.
  • Place in oven and bake for about 22 minutes total – flipping half way through.
  • In a large sauce pan, heat some olive oil. Add the garlic and shallot. Saute for about 2 minutes.
  • Add the red peppers, tomatoes, parsley and a bit of coconut milk. Bring to a simmer.
  • Add the peas, rice and the rest of the coconut milk. Simmer for about 20 minutes – or until most of the liquid is absorbed, then remove from heat. Let sit for 5-10 minutes. This last part is important. I was so hungry that I didn’t let it sit, and I ate some pretty crunchy rice.
  • Top with baked tofu.

Tofu on the way to the oven.

Still really light and tasty - but let it sit before eating! It shouldn't look like soup!

 

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

