Baked Kale

I hate feeling like I’m jumping on the bandwagon for some new-fandangled trend, but dammit, do I ever love baked kale.

For this dish, I served it alongside the turkey quinoa patties I made previously. I did change up the patties just a little this time by adding some chopped red pepper and a bunch more mint.

Baked Kale

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 head of kale
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • small pinch of salt
  • small (or big!) pinch of pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 270 F.
  • Rinse the kale thoroughly. One time I found a bunch of spiders all over the backs of my kale leaves! It was gross.
  • Smack the leaves against the sink to get rid of excess water, then dab dry with a towel.  You want the kale to be pretty dry, or it will wilt in the oven.
  • Tear off the leafy goodness on the kale, leaving only the middle stem to discard.
  • Spread onto a baking sheet.

Shiny and big before the oven.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  • Sprinkle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Use your hands to evenly distribute the seasoning.
  • Place in oven.
  • Here’s the tricky part. My oven is kind of a joke, so I have to keep a close eye on everything that goes in it. Kale is tragically easy to burn, so maybe split up your first batch into two, just so you can experiment with time. For my oven, I let the kale bake for 5 minutes, then I take it out and stir it around a bit and stick back in the oven. Another 5 minutes, and it’s done.

Fresh from the oven.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • The kale should look crispy, not burnt.
  • Serve as a side, or eat as a snack. Oh, and change up the seasonings as you’d like. I’d recommend paprika!

Ta Da!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

